Customer reviews for Philips Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD

Philips Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD

With this TV you can now enjoy the benefits of digital TV, Electronic Programme Guide and digital quality content. At the same time, you can also watch superb pictures with Pixel Plus HD clarity and details.
Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
9 out of 1369%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Review 1 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
b234
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nice TV but digital receiver lets it down.

Posted25 October 2012
This is a very nice little TV. Unfortunately I had to return my initial purchase straight away due to problems with the digital TV receiver. The store kindly replaced with but shortly after 12 months I started having problems with the digital receiver on the replacement product.
Sometimes when trying to change channels it doesn't change when you press the button. Then after a number of attempts it skips through numerous channels in one go, the number of which is related to the amount of times you have pressed the button to change the channel. Other times it doesn't change channel at all and you have to wait a few minutes before you try again or just unplug the TV and then turn it back on.
Additionally, and more worryingly, the digital receiver can no longer pick up all the TV channels satisfactorily. The ones which it cannot pick up varies on a daily basis and even throughout the day. This is extremely annoying as you can never be sure which channel will work. This has been the case at numerous connection points throughout the house and in the last three houses I have lived. The same connection points cause no problems for other digital TVs I own.
When I contacted Phillips about this I was told that nothing could be done since the TV was just over 12 months old and I was told I would need to upgrade my digital TV aerial! Unlikely since my other digital TVs don't have any problems at the same connection points.
In summation, a nice TV but let down by the digital receiver.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
alvechurchtony
From:Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good picture, average sound, attractive design

Posted26 July 2012
The picture is good from onboard tuner and brilliant from an HD source. The sound is ok but high frequencies could be clearer... even with personal settings boosting the treble. Also there is no dedicated output for a soundbar or active speakers... so it is necessary to use the headphone socket. Using external speakers does improve things but not as much as I would like.
Prosgood picture quality, attractive design
Conssound only average
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
schmontela
From:Exmouth, Devon, UK
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good picture- really bad sound

Posted25 July 2012
Very disappointed with this purchase. Although the picture is pretty good that is heavily outweighed by the awful sound quality. It always sounds muffled no matter which sound option is chosen, and from time to time the speaker vibrates badly against the casing. We often have no choice but to use our sony home cinema speakers- thank goodness we have them.
I would be very wary of buying a philips tv in the future.
Conssound quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
Anon123
From:Oxfordshire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good picture let down by hdmi connectivity

Posted24 July 2012
Picture quality in hd and sd is really very good. Good sound quality.
Let down by hdmi connect where there is no volume control through set top boxes. Also hdmi does not automatically switch the channel in the same way that scart lead does.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
gh75
From:Loughborough, Leicestershire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok, but gets hot. EPG could be better...

Posted24 July 2012
This TV gets very hot when left on for a few hours. Main issue for me though is the EPG which is a bit basic and clumsy to use.
Prosdesign
Consepg is clumsy
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
Annie47
From:Lincolnshire, UK
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

smart appearance and good performance

Posted18 October 2011
very good on the whole but with a small recurring fault. Also, problem on digital switchover but it has been rectified.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
rustmuffindan
From:Gateshead, UK
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A bright picture and all the trimmings

Posted9 October 2011
I was intent on purchasing my first tv and having it be a suitable companion to my xbox 360. I had talked to friends who had bought HD TVs and asked if there was much difference between budget and quality. They said as long as you've got a decent brand behind it you'll be fine. How right they were! As soon as I plugged in the 360 I could see and hear instantly how right they were.
Not only does it have the most impressive picture and audio I've seen on a TV out of the box, I was surprised by the depth in picture and enhancement of audio and video also available.
The connections provided catered entirely to my needs allowing me to perform all manner of tasks with a single device.
I will definitely be looking to Philips again when I purchase a ne television.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
buseng
From:Reading, UK. Berks.
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good simple to use.

Posted9 October 2011
Bought this tv on the Philips on line store a couple of years back & has worked with no problems. Easy to use with a good picture. The sound is a little boomy though. All in all a good buy although of course there are now a lot of newer models on the market with led backlighting etc.
Prosease of use., good picture.
Conssound a bit boomy/muffled on all settings.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
pmh1964
From:Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good alll rounder.

Posted4 October 2011
I have had this unit since 2007 and has worked well in all areas so far! Gets a bit hairy with all the updates from Freew where YOU MUCT REMEBER TO Press and Hold the Menu button to reset th t.v.
Sound is below average but is used through surround sound unit so is compensated for!
Makes a good first tele or excellent second.
Proslots of sockets to connect too.
Consneeds a vga port for computer.remote not ergonomic
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From:Sheffield, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good picture-great looks

Posted4 October 2011
very pleased with the tv.
no problems so far and the look has enhansed the family room where it is.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
gadgetkeith
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Philips miles ahead

Posted2 October 2011
This product is easy to use and has great features.
there is also a great back up if you have any problems
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
Jacqui
From:Usk, Monmouthshire NP15, UK
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality product but can be expensive

Posted2 October 2011
I have four Philips televisions and I lost the picture on one television. I contacted Philips support and they were excellent in providing me with a television engineer in my area and contributed to the repair.
Prosvery good quality
Conscan be more expensive than other makes
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips widescreen flat TV 32PFL5522D 81 cm (32") LCD integrated digital with Pixel Plus HD
Customer avatar
bcbcbc
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Simple to use

Posted2 October 2011
We were looking for a reliable tv and decided to go for this one. We could have got cheaper models but took this one due to the retailers 5 yr guarantee - and it's a good job we did. Had to be repaired 3 times during the 5yr guarantee which was disappointing. Like the tv - easy to use, good picture etc but let down by its reliability
Prossimple to use
Consreliability
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.