Customer reviews for Philips Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Philips Brand.

Philips Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp

Iron any ironable garment from silk, to linen, to cotton, to cashmere...in any order, without having to adjust. Your Philips PerfectCare Iron delivers fast results without risk of burn or shine for all your garments. Truly simple ironing.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15100%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Review 1 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
Taffyta
From:Cardiff, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Far better than I had expected.

Posted28 April 2014
This iron is amazing so much better and easier to use than a normal steam iron. I can now iron my dresses and delicate slips straight after each other with out fear of them singeing. I also had 3 pleated skirts that I hadn't worn for ages because they were so creased. Within minutes, using the iron vertically, they were as good as new.
Prosquick and easy to iron especially pleats
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
bfdingo
From:Guildford, Surrey
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome - even an idiot can iron with this perfect deivce

Posted5 October 2013
Easy to use, never burns fabric, always get creases out, fast and you can hear the television while using it!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
michelle74
From:Northumberland, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really comfortable to use

Posted22 July 2013
This has to be the best iron ive ever used.
I am now back to ironing my bed clothes,
the ease on which it gets though duvet covers is amazing .
I have found im not getting shiny marks on black clothes.
With most clothes i now only need to iron on one sideas the steam is powerful enough to do back and front at the same time.
You don't need to keep going over fabric to get creases out as its done straight away.
I can even sort out the creases whilst garments are hanging which is a bonus.
Ironing time is cut in half .
No changing temp for different garments.
Prosit works in one quick go, unit is comfortable to use, no temp change, no need to keep filling water
Consa little bulky to store
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
Julia1111
From:Rochester, Medway, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Steam Generator Iron I have ever used !!!!!!!

Posted15 July 2013
My Philips Perfect Aqua Pressurised Steam Generator Iron GC8635/02 arrived and I was very excited about it. !!!!
On opening the box I found a very beautiful iron and started to read the instructions and got ready to start ironing which only took minutes. I filled the massive 2.2l water tank with tap water, doesn't need anything else and plugged it in. The tank made a hissing noise and the light on the top of the iron flashes until the iron is ready which is about 2 minutes. When the flashing has stopped you can start ironing.
There is a touch sensitive button (underside of the handle) which gives you steam when needed very quickly and when pushed twice it gives you constant steam.
You can just go through your ironing pile in any order as it can deal with anything, it doesn't leave any shiny patches or scald marks, you can iron all tee-shirts with transfers and gems on it without any coming off or sticking to iron.
You can also leave the iron on your board, whilst folding and sorting as it will not scorch or soak your ironing board.
There is also the built in de-scaler, the iron flashes at you when this needs doing, but I haven't used this yet but the instructions look very easy for this.
I don't think the price is to high as this iron does it all and has saved me time and effort. I have had a steam generator for years but I had to wait until the iron was cold before I could fill the water up again, this one you can do straight away.
When finished with your ironing it has a lock on the iron platform for you to carry the steam generator. The water unit doesn't get hot so you can carry or move it without worry. There is a loop storage for the hose and a Velcro strip to fasten around the mains cord to keep it tidy.
This is the best iron I have ever used and all my family and friends agree with me.
It worth every penny and has saved me loads of time and energy.
Prosauto adjust temperature, can refill water tank at any time, light weight iron
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
purplemamfa
From:Cornwall, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT !!!

Posted10 July 2013
Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised Steam Generator Iron GC8635/02
This Iron is amazing. When I first saw it I thought the huge water tank was just to save you filling it all the time. My first use was such a shock, there’s no weight to it. It’s not until you press the button that the magic happens. Ironing stops being a hard chore and becomes a speedy, easy to do task. The iron heats up in 2 minutes, no messing and it’s ready to go. The steam does all the work so there’s no pushing on the iron. You don’t have to set the temperature for each item you go through all the items on the same setting. The steam goes through the material so it does both sides, halving the time needed to iron. You can leave the iron on the board with no risk of it burning the cover, wow, easy on the wrist no lifting it back onto the plate or standing it up. Easy to fill and empty because when you need to carry it the iron locks onto the base unit. That also makes it nice and secure when it’s not in use. It turns off after 10 minutes - perfect if you get called away. The cord tucks in the base nicely if you want to store it.
My only grievance with this beautiful iron is the Max and Min levels on the water tank disappear in poor light. They need to be bigger and/or a different colour. A minor problem with such a wonderful piece of equipment.
Prosthe steam does all the work
Consmin/max marks are hard to see
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
sares5
From:Bedford, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great for super fast ironing.

Posted9 July 2013
I have been using this for about 3 weeks now and I have to say it is the best iron I have ever used. The fact that you can iron any garment without waiting for the temperature change is brilliant and makes ironing so much quicker. The really large water tank is great too as you can do hours of ironing and don't have to keep stopping to fill it up. All in all I think this iron is brilliant. To top it off it looks really cool with its streamlined shape and blue lights - even my husband and sons have had a go at ironing because they don't need to worry about getting the temperature wrong. Its smooth soleplate glides across any material and as you can leave the iron on the ironing board without burning it saves your arms. If I did have to find something negative to say, and it is only a small one, the cord storage is fixed and I wonder how long it will be before the cord frays!
Prosnot having to adjust temperature settings
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
HelzBelz75
From:Essex, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Godfather of Irons, it is a serious Iron for a serious ironer.

Posted2 July 2013
My Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised Steam Generator Iron GC8635/02 was delivered by courier which was great as I didn't have to carry it through the town, its quite heavy in the box, so pack your muscles if you are heading to the shops!
Weight aside for the mo, this is a well packaged product and sturdy and secure in the box.
When you start unwrapping it you will notice that it doesn't get that much lighter in weight, this is because it is the Godfather of Irons, it is a serious Iron for a serious Ironer!!
Once unwrapped have a quick squiz through the instructions, that will take approximately 3 minutes. For something this big I kind of expected a whole book but it is as easy as pie!
Basically you fill the massive 2.2l water tank with tap water, (no ironing aids/waters/liquids) and switch it on. The tank makes a steaming noise and the light on the top of the iron flashes for 2 minutes, once the flashing stops, you start!
The button on the Iron handle (underside) is touch sensitive and when pressed, within a millisecond you have a massive gush of steam powering its way through. And, if you touch the button twice in quick succession you get a constant steam, great for doing shirts or linens. The super steam boost pretty much means you only have to iron one side of the item as the steam does its
magic.
Just to top this King of steam off is the OptimalTemp Technology which means there is no waiting for the iron to cool down or heat up when ironing different fabrics. This is decided by the iron and means you can easily go from silk to denim and back again. You can also leave your iron on the board whilst hanging or folding the item you have just finished and it will not scorch or soak the ironing board - Don't ask how, just appreciate!
There is one other clever touch to this product, and that is the inbuilt de-scaling - the iron flashes at you when its time to de-scale. Coming from a very hard-water area, I do think its a bonus to get this added extra. The instructions to do this are clear and easy to follow, and although I haven't de-scaled mine yet, I am pretty sure that this is going to be a simple as the rest of it.
This product has a hefty price tag, I agree. Having never used a Steam Generator Iron before I scoffed at the price, really, who pays this much for an Iron?!?! However, I tell you now,
I will never, ever go back to a conventional iron.
This is a great Steam Generator Iron, My ironing pile does seem to reduce at a faster rate and as you don't have to work so hard because the iron smoothly glides, my arm aches less after completing a full basket.
I am fully converted and my friends are all very envious!!
Worth every penny.
I have given 4* to the design, only because I am left handed and the cabling is on the right hand side of the Iron.
ps. The only slight disappointment to me was, with all the things this iron does to make life easier, there is no ironing fairy in the box!!
Prossmooth, easy to use, quick, optimaltemp is genius
Conscabling on right hand side, heavy
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
Anne14
From:Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All round perfection

Posted30 June 2013
I am so impressed with the allround design and performance of the Perfectcare Aqua.
It has cut my ironing time down considerably which for a working mum with a husbands work uniform, sons school uniform and sons chefs whites to content with is a dream.
I can go between my chiffon blouse straight to my sons jeans without waiting for temperatures to change.
The locking feature means carrying the iron to the tap to refill, to the cupboard to store or the sink to empty is easy and safe.
Its childsplay to use which my 14 year old has proved by not waiting for me to come home if he wants something ironing but just getting on with the job himself.
Ironing is no longer the chore it used to be, thank you Philips
Proseasy-to-use, professional results
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
weepostie
From:Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is easy to use and has great overall features

Posted29 June 2013
The Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 is a fantastic iron . The 2.2 water tank is easily filled and easy to empty a child over the age of 8 can do it. I tried my iron on Linen ,Cotton , Silk and wool and i must admit i am very impressed.
The iron glided easily over all fabrics, was not heavy to handle like some irons iv owned and it looks absolutely fabulous , a joy to work with . i used to spend up to 3 hours ironing uniforms and now im lucky if i use 1.5 hours. The iron gave fab results no creases left in any of the items i ironed. i am impressed and recommending to all i know and the aqua is worth every penny of the cost
Proseasy to set up and easy to use
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
Sweetlilac
From:Worcester, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Fantastic

Posted22 June 2013
I have to admit i was rather sceptical about this iron because of the price, but let me tell you it is worth every single penny.
It has a large 2.2 litre capacity tank which is easily filled, i was expecting a free measuring jug, but there isn’t one included unfortunately.
Once filled up and the power button put on, it takes less than 60 seconds to heat up and you are ready to go.
I tried mine with a cotton tea towel, linen trousers, a cotton dress, a chiffon scarf and a silk skirt and against all of my doubts, it ironed them all with ease.
There was no creases left in any of the fabrics, no adjustments to be made, the iron glides over the clothes like butter, i was astounded if im completely honest with you.
Without a doubt the best iron i have ever had !!
Consnone at all
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
katie1969
From:Dagenham, Greater London, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is easy to use with great features

Posted21 June 2013
Well what can I say the look of the Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised Steam Generator Iron GC8635/02 is impressive, navy and white and looks sleek and elegant. It is true that the whole unit is larger than a normal iron but I don't think there is that much difference for storage purposes. There is an easy to operate button lock to hold iron firmly in the unit for carrying purposes one hand on the iron and one underneath. The large water reservoir can hold 2.2 litres enough for my ironing needs and last about 2 hours. The unit itself has 3 buttons with lights.
1. On/Off
2.Eco which can save energy
3. Easy Decalc which indicates when descaling is required. There is an Easy Decalc knob which makes descaling easy.
After turning it on the iron only takes a short time to heat up. The iron is very light and the soleplate glides easily and smoothly over the clothes. The button for steam is on the underside of the handle just where your hand rests when ironing. There is no temperature control on the iron because it uses Optimal Temp technology. I ironed wool blends, cotton and cotton blends, and polyester with no adjustments in temperature with great results. Another advantage of this technology is that the iron can be left to rest on the ironing board whilst getting other garments without burning the cover. If the iron is left on for 10 minutes without being used there is an automatic switch off. The iron reservoir is easy to empty once cool, just take it to the sink and pour it out. The steam supply hose can be wound round the unit when storing and electric cable is wrapped together and held with velcro. There is a comprehensive instruction manual. I used the Eco mode to steam my curtains as they are too big to wash and they looked refreshed and clean. generator irons before. I even let my 10 year old daughter try and iron some items with supervision and she found it very easy. I would heartily recommend it.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
Emily2525
From:Southport, Merseyside, UK
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and easy to use

Posted18 June 2013
I have always thought about buying one of these Philips perfect care aqua pressurised steam generator irons. But due to the size I was put off. On setting the iron up, my partner and I argued on who got to do the ironing. I let him go first and to my surprise he nearly cleared the basket. He saved a few items for me to do. I must admit I was wary about ironing a nylon top after a pair of jeans, but it glided over with ease! Like cutting through butter with a hot knife. I would recommend. I wish I had bought one years ago!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
SusanEmily
From:Southport, Merseyside, UK
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 CarryLock ECO

Posted17 June 2013
With trepidation I set about the ironing pile. Usually I sort it into temperature piles but, this time I just did things as
I picked them up.
I was apprehensive about going from something heavy that needed a lot of heat, to something delicate BUT no problems at all.
The tank held a good amount of water, so I didn't need to top it up.
The iron itself is a nice weight to use.
Emptying and cleaning the iron and tank is really easy.
Prossaves time ironing, really easy to use.
Consa bit bulky but thats all.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
Libsmum
From:Blackmore, Essex, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I HATE ironing

Posted17 June 2013
I don't iron. That's it... i just don't.... well, I didn't. I would have to say this product has transformed me.
It's VERY easy to use - just fill it up, plug it in and when it stops flashing - go !
You never have to wait for it to get to the right temperature for the next garment - press anything jeans then silk, cotton then satin, this magic iron just 'knows' and presses everything with ease.
It is SO quick, I did a 7kg wash load in under 30 mins, inc work trousers,jeans and flimsy tops... no waiting around. Constant perfect heat for each item.
It took me a while to remember to put it on its 'face' rather than sit it up like a conventional iron but remember this isn't a conventional iron. You can just leave it face down on what you are pressing without worrying that it will burn anything.
I would recommend using it in a well ventilated room.
It takes up space but it's simple to empty and clean and not heavy when it's empty.
I don't think I'll ever be the sort to iron pants & t.towels (never understand why some people like to do that !) but it is so nice to get in a bed with freshly laundered & ironed sheets etc.
You can iron curtains while they hang although I haven't tried that yet.
I would finish this by saying that you get what you pay for, this iron is worth the investment, you will get your money back in spades... your ironing will be trouble free and done in a third of the time.
Prosspeed, always right temp, lightweight, easy to use, auto shut off
Consbulky
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised steam generator GC8635/02 5 bar 220 g steam boost 2.2 L fixed watertank Carry lock with OptimalTemp
Customer avatar
Cathlovelee
From:West Sussex, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Philips PerfectCare Aqua Pressurised Steam Generator Iron GC8635/02

Posted6 June 2013
I am a busy working mother and this iron has changed my life. No more exhausting ironing session wondering what I'm going to burn next as I iron on auto pilot!! This iron has changed my life. Not only is it gentle on garments but the only steam is from the iron and not my brow pounding work shirts to get that crisp finish.
It is a very big unit, but with the safety catch feature you know that when its locked into the until there is no fear of it falling on little children! I love the hideaway cable system, which again stops little hands being able to pull on it. It is the special features that make this iron the best on the market. Never again will I have to worry about adjusting the temperature!! No scalded marks or shiny patches where I've set the wrong agreement for me!
Prosauto adjust temperature, safety catch for iron, hide away cable - genius invention!, worth every penny
Consit's big unit to store
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.