Customer reviews for Philips Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable

Philips Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable

The three tracks of the Speed-XL shaving heads offer 50% more shaving surface for a fast and close shave
Overall rating:
4.222 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
22 out of 2781%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Review 1 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
Alan81
From:Hartley Wintney, Hampshire, uk
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Smooth result after shaving Cleaning routine flawed.

Posted13 August 2012
The shaving experience was comfortable and resulted in a smooth finish.
However, the removal of the heads for cleaning was awkward; a redesign should be considered to allow not only the removal to be achived together, as now, but also to be cleaned and replaced without the disassembly and reassembly currently required.
The outcome of my usage of the shaver is that the mechanism has jammed and is now useless. I cannot find the proof of purchase so cannot seek replacement through the retailer though the shaver is less than one year old.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy ABWebcare22 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback with regards to the design of the shaving head and reassembly. We will email you with some further assistance. We do aim to make it as easy as possible for our customers to clean and assemble their shaving heads and have a detailed guide to help you: http://www.p4c.philips.com/cgi-bin/...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
dangerous
From:witney,ox ford shire
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth the expence

Posted26 July 2012
simple to set up and use,with a usful long life for the fully-charged battery makes it un-neccesary to take the charger when travelling
Proswell built, comfortable, reliable
Conscannot replace cleaning fluid
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
Bidmead5
From:Rustington, West Sussex, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is very easy to use.

Posted25 July 2012
The battery lasts about 10 days between charges. The heads need dismantling for cleaning each week.The lower head does not do much cutting.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
Varnor
From:Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Design and Reliability

Posted25 July 2012
I have owned the razor for almost 2 years and have had no problems during all that time. I shave regularly and yet don't have to recharge all that often. I get a lot of shaves per charge.
It's also easy to transport and durable
I have no problem with recommending thos razor!
Proslong battery life, great reliability
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
mjtc
From:essex
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent shaver

Posted24 July 2012
Looks good,comfortable to use,quiet enough & gives a very good shave. Holds charge well-could do with more warning of end of charge! Can clean under running water. Trimmer is also useful.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
sclover54
From:Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has everything

Posted15 July 2012
Clean close shave
Battery life when charged excellent length before recharge required
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
Kensped
From:Cookham, Berks
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Efficent, easy to use, wears well.

Posted15 July 2012
Now almost 3 years old, the shaver has worked well ,is easy to uae, last a long time on a charge and fits the hand well.
Prosreliable
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
bernie
From:middlesbrough
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good clean shave

Posted15 July 2012
dose what it supposed to do good shave handy bag to keep it in holds it charge well easy to clean
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
alan4
From:chessington
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

usual high quality

Posted11 October 2011
Why change brands when you have found a quality product that does what it says.
Thanks Philips
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
Jordie
From:Hampshire
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My HQ8200 shaver is very efficient and quiet

Posted11 October 2011
I have been using Philip electric shavers for over 55 years.
my first saver was a mains only two headed. The second one was battery/mains with a battery level indicator which provided excellent shaves for a month between charges, which was very convenient during my travels.
My current philips shaver which I have just purchased is very easy to use, shaves well and is silent in operation. It also provides a months shaving between charges.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
Wazz
From:Stroud, Gloucestershire
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A very quick shave

Posted10 October 2011
This shaver can provide a fast shave. Battery life is excellent. It is quiet in use and comfortable in the hand. It leaves no harsh feeling on the skin.
Compared with previous similar models, it perhaps does not shave quite as closely, but the difference is small. Also the collection chamber does not function as efficiently. It allows a small amount of residue to escape - again by comparison with previous models.
Proslong battery life
Cons"dust" escapes the chamber
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From:City of London, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best yet electric shaver

Posted9 October 2011
Have been using the 8200 for about 3 months, never previously having used the rotary type of shaver but instead foil head shavers. As such, slightly sceptical of how the 8200 would do, but it gave me a cleaner cut from day 1 and the battery life from fully charged easily exceeds 2 weeks.
Prosgood clean cut
Consstand does not recharge
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
draneo
From:Birmingham, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As allways from Philips first class product

Posted9 October 2011
I have used Philips shavers since they first came available.
I have tryed two other makes, one electrics burned out.the other required new foil every 3 months costing a third os its
purchase price.
Prosthis is my 5th philips shaver in 50 years.
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
wayne
From:hertfordshire
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent shaver

Posted9 October 2011
i decide to try a eectric razor afther years of normal blade type ones.
this razor charges quick about 1hour and lasts a couple of weeks using it twice a day.it cuts close to the skin just like a normal razor within a few minutes all done no mess.compact and light to hold.
would recommend to anyone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
DavidS
From:Salford, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A shaver for the 21st century

Posted5 October 2011
Plenty ofuse from one charge. Excellent smooth close shave and to cap it all just rinse it under the tap every now and again.
Proseasy clean
Consquite bulky
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
Johnwok
From:Telford
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product is not as good as expected

Posted4 October 2011
Had a Phillips 2 head rechargable shaver for many years and decided to upgrade to a newer 3 head model. I have to say I am very disapointed with this shaver and find it is not a great improvement on my old 2 head shaver. I was told by the sales assistant in Boots where I purchased the shaver, that it would give me as close a shave as using a wet shaver. This however is not the case and no matter how long I shave for, it is not as good as having a wet shave and it takes longer! If the battery gets low, the shaver can cut out in the middle of shaving (because it takes so long to shave) which is very annoying. I think I would have been better with another model or another make.
Proslooks impressive
Consdoes not perform as good as it looks
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
brianmac
From:consett, county durham
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gives a great shave and battery life is good only problem i found was the charging stand that doesnt have a place to plug charger into

Posted3 October 2011
the only shaver ive ever had that gives me a shave as good as wet razor
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
briand
From:Lisburn
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shaving performance disappointing

Posted3 October 2011
I have used Phillips razors for many years. My last one was replaced due to its lack of keeping a charge for long. Initially I was impressed by the new model but have now found that its shaving performance is inferior to the old one.
Proskeeps charge
Conspoor shaving
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
kypros
From:Rhondda Cynon Taff, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product does not live up the Philips standards

Posted2 October 2011
Does not give a close shave within the expected time. Very slow shaving. Would not recommend
Consvery slow shaver
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips 8200 series Electric shaver HQ8250 Rechargeable
Customer avatar
DaveyJ
From:Cornwall, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not A Close Shave

Posted2 October 2011
I have had this product a year now and whilst it is easy to use, easy to clean and takes next to no time to recharge, I find it doesn't give a close shave, certainly not to the standard of my old shaver.
Prosfast recharging, easy to clean
Consdoesn't give a close shave
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>