Customer reviews for Philips Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop

Philips Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop

This Philips juicer extracts even more juice from your fruit and vegetables. Cleaning has never been easier thanks to the innovative quick-clean sieve and integrated pulp container. Treat yourself with the joy of healthy homemade juice!
Overall rating:
3.157 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
27
38 out of 6757%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Review 1 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
SteveW
From:UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I work for philips.......Generally a great product , few things that do not deliver 'Sense & simplicity'

Posted16 September 2011
Overall this is awesome, the performance is quite amazing. A couple of things I've noticed in the 2 weeks I have had it:
- Clearly it is a large product but the design does not make any allowances for this, Im sure there could have been ingenious solutions to make it 'pack' smaller when not in use
- The locking arm, not that easy to click in (for wife), and also, it makes the product even larger as it cannot be pushed up against a wall surface
- Bit dubious of the big clean in less than a minute claims. Yes it comes apart etc, and is 'rinse clean' but really, it takes much more than that to properly clean it from all the extracted bits, especially from the filter...yes its easy, but fear we are overselling this element
- The juice spoout is not as ingenious as it appears.....even in the off position it usually drips.
Again - A GREAT product, just a few refinements that could be looked at for this price!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
slrslr
From:Borehamwood, Hertfordshire, UK
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

engine burnt out so quickly and easly

Posted20 October 2014
i'm very disappointed from that product as many costumers.it is unbelievable that such a brand as Philips to produce this juicer with high prise and without any quality.i lost my receipt and now my brand new juicer will go straight into the bin.
Prosdesign
Consdoes not work
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Karthi4
From:London
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Motor spewing smoke

Posted28 September 2014
Very disappointed with this product, on the 10th time we juiced, the motor kept spewing smoke from the motor. It certainly does not live up to the hype caused by advertising as well as the high price tag. I shall be looking elsewhere for a juicer which juices properly.
Conswould definitely not reccomend
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Philips BrandBy IFPhilips Webcare29 September 2014
We are really disappointed to hear that your juicer began smoking after ten uses and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Due to the nature of the issue you have reported, we will be in contact with you by email to investigate your case further. Thank you in advance.

+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
JaneyJane
From:Birmingham, uk
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Burnt out!

Posted14 September 2013
Had it a couple of weeks and then suddenly smoke starts coming from it and it stops, never to work again! I've got a fridge full of fruit and veg, no impressed!
Prosno peeling
Consmotor burn out is a common problem
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy ABWebCare16 September 2013
We are disappointed to hear that your HR1871 juicer has stopped working. You have a two year warranty and we will be contacting you by email to assist you further.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
This review is fromPhilips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/10 1000 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop.
Customer avatar
ukuser9
From:Wellingborough, Northamptonshire, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product is very poor performance motor burn twice in two months

Posted12 October 2014
use this product to have fresh juice but in just one month burning smell started and motor burned, go the replacement and just after another month 2nd replacement of 800W got burn now
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
mb910799
From:Dunfermline, Dunfermline, Fife, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HR1871 Burnt Out Motor

Posted27 September 2014
Got one of these from Currys and after about 1 month the motor burnt out....phew, we have insurance cover on it. Second one lasted about 2 months before the same......now the 3rd one has burnt out also. Its not getting overused and fruit rammed into it.....was an orange going through it and then smoke everywhere. Not wanting to get a fourth one.....going to look for an alternative brand.
Proseasy clean
Consmotors not up to standard required
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFPhilips Webcare29 September 2014
We would like to apologise for the fact that four of your HR1871 juicers have failed and appreciate you coming directly to us with your feedback.

We would really like to look into your experience further and will be in contact by email. Thank you for your help in advance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Londoner37
From:London, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

3 juicers burnt out within last 5 weeks! Unbelievable!!!

Posted27 September 2014
There is something seriously wrong with this model! Great design and year easy to clean but motor is rubbish!! I have 10 years of juicing experience and the last machine HR1861 was fantastic and so durable with the only problem of the mesh filter getting stuck after some time. The new model 1871 couldn't get through even carrots and apples! Very disappointed!!!
Prosdesign easy to clean
Consmotor!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFPhilips Webcare29 September 2014
We would like to apologise for the fact that three juicers have failed and appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We would really like to look into your experience further and will be in contact by email. Thank you for your help in advance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
NickF65
From:Bridgwater, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Motor Burnt Out

Posted14 September 2014
After years of using a masticating juicer I was persuaded by Friends of the convenience of the centrifugal method so four weeks ago when my masticating juicer failed after 10 years, I bought my first Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W, I have since exchanged 3 units and my forth has just gone.
The star ratings are skewed because people are stating that it is a good design and easy to use. How can this be a good design if the motor fails within a few days, and if the motor keeps failing it is not easy to use as it is not functioning.
Prosnone
Consmotor
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFPhilips Webcare29 September 2014
We are really disappointed to learn of your experience and the fact that you have had 4 faulty units.

We appreciate your feedback and would very much like to look into this further to gain insight into the issues you have experienced.

We will be in contact by email. Thank you for your help in advance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Minsky
From:North Yorkshire
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would not recommend this to anyone

Posted3 September 2014
Been juicing for a long time now and decide to treat ourselves to a better machine. Bought on the 16th August thought this was an excellent buy but then the motor burnt out on the 20th August! Fortunately Argos exchanged the same day so ok thought this was just bad luck. Then on the 30th August the motor on the replacement burnt out, I then read the customer reviews on Phillips own website and found that this is a very common complaint about this model, would not buy Phillips again ever.
Prosvery easy to use and. lean
Consmotor burns out in days
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFWebCare12 September 2014
We are disappointed to hear this and will be emailing you to gain further insight into your experience. Thank you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Lonah
From:Bournemouth
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Staff Review:No
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Looks nice on first impression

Posted2 September 2014
we used it about 10 times...then the motor burned out. I see this is a common problem and will not be buying this product again....Now I need to look into how I get a refund since the machine was bought on Amazon in may 2014...btw. Amazon says they have the product under review follwoing customer complaints....
Consmotor burns out
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFWebCare12 September 2014
We are disappointed to hear this and will be emailing you to gain further insight into your experience. Thank you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Bozzeruk
From:Cardiff, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Had two in two weeks - both burnt out!

Posted26 January 2014
This product is great to use, easy to keep clean and makes juice from pretty much everything. However - after 1 week of using twice a day, smoke started coming from the motor and a horrendous burning smell came out of it. We returned it to the store we had bought it and had a replacement and exactly a week later the same thing happened. We followed the instructions provided so would suggest this is a manufacturing issue...
Proseasy to use
Conslasts a week
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy ABWebCare31 January 2014
We are extremely disappointed to learn about your experience. We treat feedback of this nature with the upmost importance and will be emailing you to assist you further. Thank you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
JosieJo
From:Berkshire, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST juicer I have ever used: easy to use, clean and efficient.

Posted23 May 2013
I have previously used juicers where the pulp that is left after juicing is still wet - indicating to me that there is still juice in it. However, the pulp that remains with this machine is completely dry, every bit of juice having been squeezed out.
I love using it as it's easy to clean afterwards too.
Proseasy to use, easy to clean, exceptional juice extraction
Consi needed to put mine on a non-slip mat as it moved
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Marsita
Gender:Female
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Engine Smells/broke 3 times in one month

Posted8 November 2014
I bought this product at argos, and while I love it when it works... Argos have had to replace it for me 3 times in under a month... I've followed the instructions diligently so I am sure it is not my fault. Can you please recommend another Philips juicer with similar features (speed/quality of juicy/capacity/easy to clean) that doesn't have such a tendency to break? I have other Philips appliances and never once had a problem, which is why I chose philips for my juicer, but my experience with this product really makes me question the quality of the brand. Philips really need to figure out how to fix this engine issue as the rest of the product is fantastic and it is a shame that it breaks down so fast!
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFWebCare12 November 2014
We are disappointed to hear this and will be emailing you to gain further insight into your experience. Thank you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Supernanny
From:Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this model!

Posted20 August 2014
After using your HR1861 juicer very happily for over 2 years, in January this year I decided to treat myself to your latest 1871 model for its reported better juice extraction qualities. I also bought one for my son as a 40th birthday present as he had worn out his 1861! We are all very keen juicers in our family - it is a way of life for us. Hence we were all very disappointed to find that although the extraction was a little better, there were a lot of little bits of the fruit and vegetables that got through into the juice - chewing on fragments of spinach and ginger is not nice. I contacted Philips Customer Services about this problem and was told that 'you are using too much force when putting veg into the feeding tube'. I am an 'experienced juicer' and never had any problems with my previous machine but now we are all using a strainer before drinking anything that is produced by the 1871. Don't buy this juicer!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFWebCare25 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

This is disappointing to read and we would like to reassure you that we will be passing your feedback directly to our concerned team.

Thank you, IF
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Dawn07
From:Lincolnshire
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this product......

Posted18 August 2014
Bought this juicer as it was recommended for the juicing diet at first I thought this was a great product easy to use and good to clean. Had it five days then the motor burnt out had to return it as juicing diet had not even finished. Exchanged lasted just two days smoke coming out the bottom it was that bad. Thought third time lucky how stupid was I did not even get my my first juice finished and the motor burnt out again. Why are Phillips still selling this product!!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy IFWebCare25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your Avance Collection Juicer.

We are disappointed to hear this and will be emailing you to gain further insight into your experience.

Thank you, IF
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Mike1
From:Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good design and image , easy to use.

Posted6 April 2014
Have loved using my juicer twice a week since end of Jan 14 however today 6th April it would appear the motor has burnt out! Smoke appeared after using for less than a minute.
Where can I return this as it was a Christmas gift ??
Any advise would be appreciated
Many thanks
Mike1
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Response from Philips BrandBy ABWebCare9 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed to learn that your HR1871 juicer has stopped working. We would like to help you further, so will contact you directly by email.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
guz123
From:Ilford, Greater London, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

most practical and robust

Posted24 April 2013
Great investment, very versatile.
Handy recipes with easy steps.
Proseasy to use
Conscable is not long enough
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
gml6
From:Skegness, Lincolnshire, UK
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A joy to Juice

Posted12 April 2013
Juicing has now become a joy, this machine is everything the video said it would be and more, my family and friends just enjoy seeing their juices being made because they cannot believe how easy it is to use and clean, and I enjoy making them because it is not a chore any more. Well done Phillips. Only two drawbacks, it is very tall so I have to leave the dome off whilst not in use as it gets in the way of the cupboard doors, unfortunately I do not have any plugs other than those under the cupboards. Also the spout drips after you take the jug away, I have to remember to have a small tub at hand to save making a mess on the worktop. But I would not exchange it for any other juicer as all the other excellent features out weigh these. Well done the designer!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Halley200
From:Northampton, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast

Posted8 March 2013
We've owned a masticating juicer for some time and the juice it produces is good, but it is slow to load and operate, and a lot of work to clean afterwards.
The Philips machine on the other hand produces good juice, is very, very fast and easy to wash afterwards. Instead of making juice on a Sunday with the old machine and hoping it will keep until Wednesday in the fridge, we now make a fresh juice every morning.
Only criticism is that the juice can by frothy with a head rather like that on a pint of beer. It's not unpleasant to taste, but probably isn't going to be universally loved either.
Prosspeed, ease of use, easy to clean
Consfroth on some juices
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Avance Collection Juicer HR1871/00 800 W QuickClean 2.5 l, XXL tube Drip stop
Customer avatar
Frankyk
From:London, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product - even better than the older version!

Posted12 October 2012
I find myself promoting this Juicer product all the time. I love it. Now I want to see whether or not they can apply this brilliance to their Blender, which I also have, but isn't working as well.
Proseasy to clean and reassemble.
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>