Customer reviews for Philips Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Philips Brand.

Philips Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator

This Philips electric shaver gently follows the contours of your face for a close shave and the rings have a stretch and lift pattern to prepare the skin for a great shave. The new conditioner protects the skin against irritation.
Overall rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
34 out of 3597%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Review 1 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Marmaduke
From:Amersham, Buckinghamshire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good in design

Posted17 July 2013
Good bit of equipment lovely for shaving head in shower etc ..
No good for face as it nips skin unles u pull skin tight..
Left sore marks on neck mainly
Lube tube handy too
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
PB2013
From:Cambridgeshire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

simple design but good product

Posted9 April 2013
A excellent product easy to use which gives an excellent shave
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Mcthegolfer
From:Wilmslow, Cheshire
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use, efficient and gives a very smooth shave. The Coolskin lotion gives fresh smooth feeling after shaving.

Posted25 July 2012
The docking system ensures that the razor is always fully primed with Coolskin lotion and fully charged ready for the next use
Prosalways ready for use
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Jonathan
From:Lichfield
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent way to start the day. A very close shave and fresh skin.

Posted25 July 2012
The shaver always gives a really close shave and with the Nivea conditioner it leaves the face feeling smooth and fresh.
The charging cradle is easy to use and works efficiently. The shaver works for at least two weeks between charges and the Nivea refill lasts about 3 to 4 months.
It is quite simply the best electric shaver I have owned.
Prossmooth comfortable shave
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Airedales1998
From:London, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good product missing useful features

Posted25 July 2012
I bought this when my existing shaver (8460?) simply stopped working - but I had liked the way that it worked - plus one or two nice features like the travel lock - which since I do a lot of travelling was very handy and avoided the problems I had found before where shavers had turned themselves on and were dead when needed. Sadly this version is a stripped down version of the 8460 and specifically does not have this feature - and did not come with a travel pouch (that I remember) - but I was able to use my old travel pouch. Despite both of these - though I do use my old travel pouch I have never had the shaver lose battery during travelling - but I would have preferred if it had the travel lock. Apart from this I recommend this shaver - though do wish that the manufacturers could do something to improve razor head life - and charge less for them!
Prossimple easy to use
Conslacking features, price of replacement parts
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
gsabirmalik
From:London/UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nicely designed and works well to shave the face, ears etc BUT does not work on neck or head

Posted25 July 2012
Nicely designed and works well to shave the face, ears etc BUT does not work on neck or head.
Overall its good, durable and beautiful product
Prosnice design, very good battery performance, charging is easy
Consdoes not work on neck or head
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Penn42
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, very versatile

Posted24 July 2012
Fantastic shaver that has a brilliant battery life. Deals with fresh stuble and a weeks growth with ease
Prosgreat battery, easy to clean
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Richie41
From:London
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shaver

Posted24 July 2012
This shaver is brilliant. If I need a quick shave, I can look respectable in 30 seconds, or if I need to, I get almost as good as a wet shave with a few minutes use with the conditioner.
Prosconditioner really works
Consno travel lock
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
3vcarver
From:Nuneaton, Warwickshire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pleased with product

Posted24 July 2012
Pleased with shaver performance.
Inconvenience to change heads(shave or beard trimmer attachment)
Creams become expensive to replace
Prosclose shave
Consinconvenience to change heads(shave or beard trimm, creams become expensive to replace
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Lomo2010
From:Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use and follows the contours of the face very well

Posted29 July 2012
A very good and easy to use shaver, no problem to use wherever you are.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Sibbo45
From:Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire NG24, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The addition of a Conditioner is a great feature

Posted27 July 2012
After failing miserably with electric shaving in my 20's,I was recommended this product in my early 60's and have been successfully using it for the past three years. I believe it is the feature of the conditioner that has been the key to its success.
Proslong battery life
Consi found leaflet confusing!
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Dobby78
From:Essex, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A worthy replacement for my HS 8060

Posted26 July 2012
Fits neatly in the hand and maybe slightly lighter than the 8060 due to different control buttons. The important things are that it gives the same close smooth finish and also fits the 8060's recharge station, so no need for manual charging of the Nivea anti-irritation conditioner. The open shave heads allow the shaver to access the facial contours easily with no skipped places and cleaning is so simple.
Proslight fits neatly in the hand, close control
Conswould prefer to see a "full bar" to signify charge
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Mike99
From:Aston le Walls, Northants
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Entirely Satisfied

Posted25 July 2012
I have been entirely satisfied with this product. The only complaint I
have relates to the Nivea Cream Dispensers, two out of the six
purchased being faulty. The razor itself however has been fine.
Consonly the faulty dispensers mentioned above.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Ben10
From:Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a good product

Posted24 July 2012
provides a good, close shave , is easy to clean
by holding it underwater for 30 secs, holds it's
battery life for a decent amount of time, and
the blades have kept reasonably sharp for 2 1/2
years and counting.
Prosgood close shave, good battery life, blades stay sharp for a decent amount of time, easy to clean
Consdidn't like the moisturiser part.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
Bob889
From:Bolton, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

simple and easy to use

Posted24 July 2012
nivia for men helps give a smooth shave 889and is reliable
Conspoor shaver head cover on new model lugs broke off
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
MgrS
From:Grimsby, England
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

Posted8 March 2012
I have used Philips rotary shavers since my first one - single head - years ago.
I have had this latest design for nearly 5 years and replace the head annually as recomended. Works beutifully without hurting my skin.
Prosnivea cream
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
catters
From:Dewsbury, Kirklees, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use ..

Posted9 October 2011
This shaver is brilliant, very good, I have updated to this version... The best result is in the shower,
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
smbsmb
From:Exeter, Devon, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost as close as a wet shave, but not quite.

Posted9 October 2011
Almost as close as a wet shave, but not quite. The main thing to remember is to shave when your skin is wet for best results. Skin feels smoother than with a standard electric or battery shaver, but needs another shave sooner.
Overall a good attempt to rival a wet shave, nearly there, but not quite.
Proscloser than a standard battery shave, can use it in the shower
Consnot quite as good as a wet shave but nearly
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
GeoffM
From:Potters Bar, Hertfordshire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is agreat product and performs well generallyc

Posted7 October 2011
I would have put excellent for this product except the cream dispenser can be erratic .
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips NIVEA NIVEA FOR MEN shaver HS8420/23 with battery indicator
Customer avatar
BUTTERFLY
From:ESSEX, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:7-12 months
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

DOES NOT SHAVE CLOSE ENOUGH

Posted3 October 2011
THE SHAVER IS VERY EASY TO USE BUT I FEEL THAT THE ACTUAL SHAVE IS NOT ACTUALLY CLOSE ENOUGH COMPARED TO A RAZOR. ALSO THE LUBRICATION WAS NOT EASY TO PURCHASE
Prosease of use
Consdifficult to obtain lubricant
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>