Customer reviews for Philips Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*

Philips Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*

Enjoy 27 hours* of great MP3 and WMA music with the Philips GoGear digital audio player SA1942. Easily search for your favourite songs by album or artist.
Overall rating:
4.296 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
21 out of 2584%reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Review 1 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
missmilly
From:Weston-super-Mare, North Somerset, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

instructions are a nightmare

Posted25 October 2013
the mp3 player is ok for the price...in fact the sound is very good!
however it all goes pear shaped when you try to load music onto the player from the pc.
I don't consider myself completely stupid....but I found it really complicated!
I was trying to do a playlist for a pub quiz I run...so the songs had to play in the right order...sorted the songs...pressed the sync button...
and I thought this is easy peasy.Not a chance!
when I tried to playback...some songs had disappeared and they where in the wrong order!
back to the drawing board!
I will figure it out eventually, but does it really have to be this hard?
Prosgood sound
Consreally complicated
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
Tam31
From:New Zealand
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Less than a month
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The ORIGINAL product was BRILLIANT.

Posted8 January 2013
The new version, (Model SA4RGa/97, Firmware version 1.08) I got for my son is horrendous, its awkward to use, the transfer of songs to the playlists is tedious, the lock button being in the same place as the menu button is frustrating to say the least and the delay between songs is FAR too long. I have had mine, (Firmware version 1.11) for almost a year and was quick to recommend the ORIGINAL to anyone looking for a hardy and easy to use MP3 player, this is why I got one for my son for Xmas, but since it has been changed, I would advise against it. Get the ORIGINAL if you can find one, they are FAR superior.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
Simon2012
From:Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this is a good product!

Posted30 July 2012
overall it is a very good prooduct, very small and yet with lots of memory. it's very easy to use and the design is nice too
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
sioux50
From:Hitchin Herts
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

Posted30 July 2012
As a technophobic I found MP3 easy to use. The screen large enough for me to read.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
slimjen
From:Bromley, Greater London, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First class product

Posted29 July 2012
I have found this mp3 player very good. It is easy to use, with great quality from the product.
Prosvalue for money.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
ShortBlokePhil
From:Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the MP3 for me.

Posted27 July 2012
I would recommend this product, as I have had this "Philips GoGEAR MP3 player" for at least five years and it still plays and lasts as good as the day that I bought it.
Prosgood battery life., great sound quality.
Consvolume adjustment can be a bit fiddley.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
didialkl
From:Weston-super-Mare, North Somerset, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product has gread saund

Posted25 July 2012
I buy 3 mp3 pleyers before found this one , now I'm happy with my go gear. The best think is the battery live.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
clissey
From:S. Wales
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lovely bit of kit

Posted25 July 2012
I have bought 3 of these lovely MP3's. The first was to put audio books on for my holiday's. It was so easy to load and use that I have bought 2 more of my husband and myself for our music. My husband couldn't cope with his old mp3 and would disturb me to find what he was looking for. Both my sisters have bought themas well. These are really brilliant. I use them with a speaker when I don't want to use ear phones. simple to download from computer.
Proseasy to use, great size, i have different colours for different things, easy to charge, easy to load
Consnone i have come across
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
Bunikins
From:Newmarket, Suffolk CB8, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is amazing

Posted25 July 2012
I used this when going to the gym and twice I have left it in my track bottoms while they have been through the wash. Both times it has come out of the washing machine and worked perfectly, just pressed play and it started to played from where I has left it. What an amazing product especially when so inexpensive compared to other similar products
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
PARESH
From:London, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

RAGA 4Gb MP3 PLAYER

Posted25 July 2012
VERY ROBUST, DEEP AND BASE SOUND, GREAT POWER CAPABILITIES >20 HOURS. HAVE USED VERY MUCH AND NEVER FAILED ME. STRONG DESIGN, BUT ELEGANT LAYOUT, SPECIFICATIONS. MP3 PROGRAMMES ARE EASY AND SIMPLE TO USE WITH THE PHILIPS SONGBIRD SOFTWARE. CHARGING IS VERY FAST.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
trkbyron
From:York, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:4-6 months
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a simple player

Posted25 July 2012
Just a good easy to use piece of kit.Simple to use and a good battery life.Compact design,easy fits in small pockets.Headfones are ok as well.
Prosmodern colours
Conssome might find it too small
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
DES59
From:Newcastle, Down BT33, UK
Gender:Male
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing product

Posted25 July 2012
great sound, easy to use, goes for ever on each charge.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
MellyB
From:Gloucester, UK
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for money

Posted25 July 2012
I bought this for my 9 year old daughter and it is excellent value. It is incredibly durable and is very easy to use.
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
ste65
From:Manchester, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

product as great sound

Posted24 July 2012
excellent product good quallity sound good features and the product is stylish and very tough droped mine a few time with no effect on product.
Prosgood quallity sound, stylish, value for money, tough product
Consscreen a bit small
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From:Coleraine, UK
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

go-gear review

Posted24 July 2012
I am a postman and this one of the best mp3 type players that i have used while doing my job. the battery life between charges is fantastic.Its easily carried and stored its 1st class.
Prosbattery life
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
MartinJS
From:Eastbourne
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality, reliable and effective

Posted24 July 2012
Had this since late 2009 now, and it's never missed a beat. Very easy to sync via PC, stores about 650 high-quality MP3s/WMAs at a time, and the battery life of roughly 28 hours (pus the easy-to-follow battery measure) means it should never run out on you. I normally set it on random but it's quite easy to locate specific artists/albums/tracks too. Sound quality is fine, start-up is quick, and everything works as it should. A little too easy to accidentally reset it (which doesn't wipe the music but does clear the cache of what's been played in what order), but otherwise fine. No need to pay over-the-odds for a certain company's flashy products when this works so effectively.
Prosgreat battery life, easy to use, reliable
Consnot the most stylish you'll find, a few minor niggles
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
Penners
From:Torquay, Torbay, UK
Gender:Male
Age:18-30
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

Posted24 July 2012
The best mini MP3 player I have ever come across. The screen is small and the information minimal but that is part of what gives this player it's amazing battery life - it simply plays for days on end and definitely lasts longer then any competitors. Despite the small screen the menu system is intuitive enough to navigate around although setting the player to full shuffle is probably the most common task.
The player is also very solidly built and easily ignores hard knocks and drops with it's metal casing.
Overall exactly what I wanted and an amazing product.
Prosgreat battery life, solid build, plug and play, light
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
philipsshopper
From:uk
Gender:Male
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

philipshopper

Posted1 November 2011
Brilliant little mp3 player. Its very small, light weight, drag and drop songs onto the player and quick to charge. Fairly easy to use once you get the idea of how it works. It has a good battery life and the sound quality is excellent.
Prossmall and light weight, good sound, excellent battery life, drag and drop songs, quick battery charge, cheaper than an ipod
Consnone
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
macbough
From:Felixstowe,Suffolk
Gender:Female
Age:31-50
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

Posted21 October 2011
This product was bought as a present. Very clear sound,easy to use and has a good battery life.
Consscreen a bit small
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Philips GoGEAR MP3 player SA1942 RaGa 4 GB*
Customer avatar
rdjoe
From:newport
Gender:Female
Age:Over 50
I have used this product for:Over 2 years
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

go gear sa1942

Posted15 October 2011
i download all my stories from audible club because i have bad eye sight and this machine has changed my life no more worring if iwill be able to read a favorate book i can down load it and enjoy as many times as i like thank you phillips for all the happy hours
Yes, I would recommend this product.
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>